Film Florida Elects 2023 – 2024 Officers; Sandy Lighterman Named President of Organization

Sandy Lighterman, Film Commissioner for Broward County (Film Lauderdale), has been elected President of Film Florida. It was announced at the Film Florida Annual Meeting, along with the entire Film Florida Board of Directors for 2023-2024. The 2023-2024 Film Florida Board of Directors (and Alternate Board Members) reside in fourteen different counties in Florida stretching from Escambia County (Pensacola) to Monroe County (Key West).

“It is an honor to serve as President of Film Florida. The organization continues to grow and I’m proud of our accomplishments in recent years,” commented Lighterman. “Florida is open for business! I look forward to working side by side with industry professionals as we continue to seek opportunities to strengthen the film, television and digital media production industry. Our industry has a deep history in the state and remains an important piece in Florida’s economic growth and diversification and we look forward to competing for high wage jobs in the film, television and digital media production industry.”

As the Broward County Film Commissioner, Sandy Lighterman represents the Greater Fort Lauderdale region’s commercial production industry and works diligently to attract production business to all corners of the County. Sandy has served in Film Florida Leadership for 10 years and has also served on Advisory Boards for several educational organizations that support teaching a film curriculum to underserved communities. Prior to her role in Broward County, Sandy spent nearly 14 years as the Miami-Dade County Film & Entertainment Commissioner. Before that time, she enjoyed a successful 25+ year career as a film and television producer. Sandy brings a wealth of industry experience to her position from producing 200+ music videos and TV commercials, as well as television series and independent films.

Immediate Past President Gail Morgan added, “It has been a privilege to serve Film Florida and our entire Florida entertainment production community over the past three years. I enthusiastically support Sandy Lighterman and believe that her vision, enthusiasm, and tenacity will continue to show the far-reaching benefits our industry has on the state of Florida including creating jobs, spurring economic development and enhancing tourism.”

2023 – 2024 Executive Board Officers:
President – Sandy Lighterman, Broward County Film Commission (Film Commission Council)
1st Vice President – Matt Wohl, Traveling Dog Films (Industry & Association Council Council)
2nd Vice President – Tyler Martinolich, Film Tampa Bay (Film Commission Council)
Secretary – Michael Viera, SAG-AFTRA (Labor Council)
Treasurer – Anne Russell, Full Sail University (Education Council)
Immediate Past President – Gail Morgan, Destin-Fort Walton Beach Film Commission (Film Commission Council)

Additional Board Members:
Film Commission Council: Chair- Brooke Hill, Orlando Film Commission; Vice Chair- Chad Newman, Florida Keys & Key West Film Commission; Secretary- Gaby LaJeunesse, Florida’s Sports Coast Film Commission; Alternates- Meagan Happel, Florida’s Space Coast Film Commission; Lisa Dozois, St. Pete Clearwater Film Commission; and Michelle Hillery, Palm Beach County Film and Television Commission.

Industry & Association Council: Chair- Jennelle Jordan, Women in Film & Television Florida; Vice Chair- Lindsey Sandrin, Vū Technologies; Secretary- Chris Odom, FireFly Media Group; Alternates- Jen Vargas, Film Slam; Alexa Sheehan, HarborDashery Productions, LLC; and Sabine Dibbern, Talent Direct Agency.

Education Council: Chair- Dr. Devin Marsh, After School Film Institute (ASFI); Vice Chair- Jonathan Stone, Florida State University College of Motion Picture Arts; Secretary- Stephen McDowell, Florida State University College of Communication & Information; Alternates- Saliha Nelson, Urgent, Inc.; Moe Fowler, Valencia College; and Lisa Mills, UCF Nicholson School of Communication, College of Sciences.

Leah Sokolowsky, Teamsters Local 769 and Michael Viera, SAG-AFTRA will continue to represent Labor Council.

About Film Florida: Film Florida is a state-wide not-for-profit entertainment production trade association that serves a leadership role in Florida’s film, TV, production and digital media/tech industry by representing all aspects of the business including film commissions, industry, labor, associations and education. The growing membership driven organization provides a network, a platform, and the benefits of playing an active part in solidifying Florida’s position as a major entertainment production destination, positive economic development driver and tourism generator. For more information about Film Florida visit

# # #
Sandy Lighterman, President,, 954-439-1289
John Lux, Executive Director,, 407-494-6195

Skip to content